A Shetland Lace Project

It is no secret that I love to knit lace, the more complex the better. I love to design the lace first and then dive in and explore what I think the design should do.

I have knitterly friends who love to aid me in my process. Anne is one of those friends. We really got to know one another about 10 years ago at one of Mad About Ewe’s Retreats and have talked a few times over the years. She came in recently and asked If I was interested in working with some Gossamer Cashmere yarn from Heirloom knitting. She came back a few days later with the yarn and some vintage knitting books! Such a wonderful gift.

And of course, I am interested!

I received the yarn on Monday. This beautiful yarn, a 2-ply cashmere that weighs in at 25 grs with 1230 yds in the ball is going to be a challenge!

Monday evening I was swatching. I felt a little like Goldilocks, it took three tries before I decided on the correct needle size to get the look and feel I wanted. I am going with a 1.75mm and I am using the beautiful lace needles from Heirloom Knitting. They have such smooth joins and a great cord.

Right now I am pouring over my Shetland Lace Books. Looking at the patterns and thinking about the shape – I am pretty sure that I am looking at a half or three quarters circle – but I might also need more yardage. So I have things to consider.

Another knitterly friend gave me her copy of the Sarah Don’s The Art of Shetland Lace. It has a lovely inscription from Jeanie and I treasure the book. 

The Art of Shetland Lace was published in 1980 and includes photographs of some of the amazing lace work from the the (Lerwick) Shetland Museum and Archives. It was an amazing book for its time. It is notorious for all of the pattern mistakes. But it was for a long time the only source of Shetland Lace Patterns. It was last reprinted by Lacis in 1991.

At the same time as I was contemplating this new project I was also getting messages on instagram that a new Shetland Lace book was coming and will be available at the beginning of April –Shetland Fine Lace Knitting. This is book is written by Carol Christianson. It was written to assess and chronicle the Shetland Museums Lace Collection and will have pictures, swatches, charts and some of the history of lace knitting, most from the Museum. I am so excited!

Shetland Museum and Archives

Just a note on the price of knitting books. This new book is just under $50 and is over 200 pages. The Sarah Don book still has the original price ticket. It was $26.95 and has 100 pages. The current buying power of $26.95 from 1980 today is $100.00. Sobering thought. Books are not really that expensive today if you look at it in this manner.

So I have started the set-up for the shawl, but is going on hold until the new book is here. I might knit just a little bit more, because I can always add to the design! 

Happy Knitting

Lynette

Published by letissierdesigns

I am an independent knitting pattern designer. My favourite things to design are accessories. Hats, Cowls, Mittens, Gloves, all styles and many weights! Designing anything with lace is my passion. Combining lace with other textures is usually my goal, to add interest and depth to the articles created. Blog - Of Larks and Linnets and Flying Fingers. Facebook - LeTissier Designs Instagram - letissierdesigns I work primarily with natural fibres and love to embellish my patterns. I work to create interesting surface textures with differing stitch patterns and often embellish with beads or buttons. I have designed for Buffalo Wool Co, Vogue Knitting, Zealana, Malabrigo and others. But mostly I design for myself and my LYS. I have worked full time at Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns for over 20 years and started my design process as a method of creating patterns that featured teachable knitting techniques. Everything has grown from those patterns.

2 thoughts on “A Shetland Lace Project

  1. Fascinating! I haven’t thought about lace knitting for a while- maybe?? Joan 

    Sent from my iPad

    <

    div dir=”ltr”>

    <

    blockquote type=”cite”>

    Like

Leave a comment